An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Mum...

Today you would have been 81.

I can't believe it's 10 years this year since you left us.  The decade has just disappeared.  I still haven't quite come to terms with my orphan status!

Eighty-one years since you popped into the world, a war baby.  Born into a time of mass disruption, lives interrupted, lives lost, a world in turmoil wondering how long it would go on for...I wonder what you would make of the current covid situation?

I also wonder what you would make of seeing your photograph in colour :-)) I suppose it wouldn't be such a big surprise for you as it was for me, as you were there and lived the moment in full colour, but for me it's such a thrill.   

I've looked at this black and white photo so many times over the years (original in extras) and now seeing you sitting there in 1964, with your George Medal and letters of congratulations from all around the world, in full colour, just brings you to life again for a moment.  It's a wonderful feeling.  I didn't really notice your hair in the original photograph but on seeing you in colour one of the first thoughts I had was to wonder how long it took you to back comb your hair to that height!  If I close my eyes I can still smell the Elnett hairspray!  lol

You are never far from our thoughts and lips.  Alan likes us to talk about you regularly and his plans frequently are to jump in the car and go and see Gran B in heaven, usually next week!  He smiles and laughs when we talk about you and I am reminded of the wonderfully close bond you shared and the many adventures you had together.  I am so thankful that he had 14 wonderful years with you.

Our lovely friend Pixel8 kindly turned this photo to colour, as well as a few others.  I have included the photo I blipped on your birthday last year, in extras, which is also now in glorious colour.  

I have a few more pics to send to him :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.