An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Mum...

Today you would have been 80.  

EIGHTY!  Wow!  I find the thought of you being 80 almost unbelievable, I suspect because it forces me to realise how old I am!  

I have been going though old photos on the iMac and copying them to the external hard drive on my laptop with the intention of having a clear out as   they take up so much space.  Also lots of them are duplicates or not worth keeping because the quality is so bad.  Naturally this task is taking much longer than anticipated because I spend so long looking at the photos and reliving the memories they hold.  

Today's blip of course, doesn't hold any memories for me as it was taken 9 years before I was born.  You (on the right) with your pal Jean and Jim (the husband of another pal, Helen) at another friend (Margaret's) wedding.  

My friend Fiona (who's mum was the bride) tells me that the wedding date was 29th March 1958, so you would be 17 years old here, two months before you turned 18.   How glamorous you look!  :-)  

Seventeen years old and your whole life ahead of you.  And in a blink it is over and the daughter who was not yet a twinkle in your eye when this photo was taken, is now 53 with an almost 24 year old son!  Isn't time a funny thing?! 

The last birthday we got to share together was your 70th.  I'm incredulous that it was 10 years ago.  A decade!  When I think about it, it feels no more than a couple of years ago, three at the most.  And it's little wonder that I see more of you in myself every day, as my strongest memories of you are the 20 years from your 50th, to turning 70.  

I am trying to imagine what you would have been like at 80 years young.  Probably not that different from 70.  Looking in the mirror and saying "Get me Di!  80!!  And I don't look a day over 79! "  :-)))

Health permitting, you'd still have been keeping us right (whether we wanted to be kept right or not ;-) still with razor sharp wit, keeping us in stitches whenever we were together, and still knowing exactly when to be massively inappropriate with your comments.  Hahahaha...poor David.  He says he can see the invisible thread that runs from gran, to you, to me, and he gets more afraid with each passing year :-)))  As well he should ;-)

Happy Heavenly Birthday mum.  Miss you every single day xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.