An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Home time...

Backblip

The alarm was set for 6am but I woke up just before it went off.  For a second my mind wandered to where will we go today?  Then I remembered...home.  

I have missed Alan and Lola so much and I am desperate to see them, but when I do, I will want to come straight back here again!  lol!

We had to vacate Christine's house by 10am so it was up, showered, dressed, the last of the packing (just our toiletries really as we did most of the packing yesterday) and we were all set to go just before 10am.

Christine's mum-in-law and her sister look after the property so they arrived to start getting it ready for the next people coming in later this afternoon.  We had a blether with them then we were off.

Ferry wasn't sailing till 3.30pm (we had to be at the terminal no later than 2.45pm) so we had booked lunch at An Lanntair for midday.  With an hour and a bit to kill we headed off to a little area of Lewis that was fairly close by but we hadn't explored yet - Crosbost.

This small village (more a scattering of houses) is on the north shore of Loch Liurbost and overlooks the 'Barkin Isles.'  It's approximately ten miles from Stornoway.

*The village was formed in the 1840s after the clearances of the people from Lemreway and other surrounding villages from the opposite side of Loch Erisort. Many of the families gathered the few possessions they could and came across the loch, most surviving their first winter in their upturned boats.*

What hardy people they must have been!

After enjoying the view of the loch, we turned back to Stornoway and enjoyed a lovely lunch at An Lannair, including a rather large and very delicious Eiffel Tower cake!  We watched the ferry arrive as we finished our coffee.

Onto the ferry with no problems  and car parked right beside the lift so I could use my wheels.  Very handy for getting about the ferry as me on elbow crutches on a rolling ferry, is not a good combination!  Actually apart from the first 20 mins or so, the crossing was very calm.  We even went outside onto the deck and enjoyed the fresh air.  Wasn't even cold.  That's where I got my second shot in extras...Stornoway well over the horizon and me pretending my eyes leaking was the fault of the sea air.

Of the ferry at Ullapool and after a fish supper we headed home.  A quick loo stop at Kingussie and a nip into the coop for some essentials, we were home just before 10.30pm.

Delighted to see Alan and he seemed delighted to see us (I got kisses and cuddles :-) Unpacked the essentials and fell into bed exhausted.

Lola not back till tomorrow morning.  Can't wait to give her cuddles :-))

*wiki

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.