Cut 30 Stems

I was recently told about some article or another suggesting that if you're fortunate enough to have a garden you should try to cut 30 bits of greenery or flower stems every week. Not just in the summer but all year round. I can't find any reference to this advice but to me it makes sense. It's easy enough to do at this time of year, as blipped, but harder in the winter. If you make the effort  there's always something to find and  taking yourself outside is beneficial in itself. I've written before about how my late MiL always had a posy of flowers or stems of some sort on the table. It's much better to have your own cut flowers than buy overpriced ones flown half way round the world. But of course if you're struggling to get by having flowers in the house isn't going to be important; nor is thinking about spending time outside. I know my good fortune.

Awake early. I listened to a programme about 'Replacement Theory' on the World Service. It was about how such fringe ideas become mainstream, courtesy of truth twisters like Tucker Carlson and his ilk. His ilk being all over the world of course.

Then I got up and had a cup of tea, pottered about in the garden taking photographs of potential blips and so on. It's not a bad morning at all. I have a few plans for today but it's far too early to put any of them into gear. Another cup of tea it is. Wishing you a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.