My Green Heaven

I have spent so much time in the Scotia Barrens in the past year and a half that you'd expect I'd soon put down roots there! And so it was that on this day, my husband dropped me off by the gameland parking lot, just before a big rain was expected, and off I trotted to visit with the Pink Ladies again; apparently, I just can't stay away!

The woods are green - BEYOND green. The leaves are fully out now, with all of the recent rains. The ponds are full up. The pathways are standing with water, which makes for some fun reflections shots (wear your waterproof footgear, please). The bugs are starting, which is not so great actually.

And now I want to tell you how it is to be in these woods, as the big rains arrived. First, the light in the sky turned green, and I knew it was time! There is just a way that you can tell. So the green light made my green leaves even greener and I took this one last shot which you see above. "Here it comes!" I said out loud. But Tiny Tiger wasn't with me; I was traveling light.

Then I could hear the rain arriving. I heard it drumming on the trees a mile away, loud, like a thundering locomotive, then a half-mile away, and then closer, closer. So loud, the rain! The instant before it arrived, UP went the pink umbrella, as the rain hit! The rain came down in sheets!

I was expecting the rain to get there around noon, based on the weather map I'd looked at online before leaving the house. But it got me at ten till, and I was still about a 20- to 25-minute walk from home when it started. So of course, I got a righteous soaking! Which is a thing that apparently happens to me here all the time now. Don't worry; I'm not made of sugar, so I won't melt!

Of course, I had my camera, but I was worried at how heavy the rain was, so I grabbed my camera bag and slung it around the FRONT of me, and hiked it up to my neck, holding the bag sort of with both my hands, and somehow holding onto the umbrella too.

Honestly, though, my woods babies, I had my tunes box back and I was enjoying that rain so much!  I thought about it, but I couldn't take a picture for us of the water drumming on my favorite little pond, or the camera would have gotten a soaking too. Rest assured that the rain made a wonderful symphony amid my green heaven! Plop plop! Splatter! Drop drop!

My soundtrack song for this green, green view is Too Much Heaven, from the album Greenfields (which I do highly recommend if you liked the BeeGees at ALL!). I'll give you this version, with Barry Gibb and Alison Krauss, and then here is the original version performed by the incomparable BeeGees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.