Yellow Warbler at the Julian Wetlands

We are heading into a warm spell, and one of the things we accomplished on this day was installing the air conditioner in the bedroom window. But before all of that, in the morning while it was still cool, my husband and I went for a little walk at a local wetlands we discovered about a month and a half ago, in Julian.

The place is quite small, but nice. And it has lots of birds who love to come there. I suspect that it is home to local birds, but also provides hospitality to some just passing through. There is water, and tall grass, and cover. And the bullfrogs were going great guns; their ker-chunk! calls sounded like strumming on an old banjo!

While we were there, some yellow birds showed up, and we looked closely but they were NOT our traditional goldfinches. I did manage to get a single decent shot which you may see here of what turns out to be a yellow warbler. Hello, pretty yellow bird high up in the tree!

My husband kept calling the little yellow birds lemon pipers, which cracked me up. Because, as you may know, the Lemon Pipers were a psychedelic rock group from the 1960s, and this is their greatest hit: Green Tambourine.
So listen while I play-ay-ay-ay . . . my green tambourine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.