There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

"Meow!" said Jensen (redux)

Further Tow Hill Tales . . .
Starring . . . Jensen!


My husband and I walked up Tow Hill on this morning, and as we crested the hill, my husband said, "Did you see that small quadruped cross the road? It almost looked like a cat." Yes, I'd caught a glimpse. Couldn't be sure.

And we walked by, but then we turned around, and there was a creamsicle colored orange cat sitting quietly by the mailbox of the house we had just passed. It took a second for me to realize who it was: "Jensen!" I said.

Now, you may or may not remember Jensen. We first met him last spring when he was out walking with his mom and the white dog who is his sibling. They were in the Tow Hill parking lot at the time, heading into the woods for a walk. We only had time for a quick Hello on that day.

But on this day, we had plenty of time and inclination, and so I stopped and got my camera out to film the scene, as my husband set about the business of making friends with Jensen.

Now, first you need to know that my husband is one of those cat-guys. Yes, you know the type. The cats all just want to come and love on him. Once in college, he was on the beach in Florida with a friend, and sat down for a minute on the sand. A cat ran out of the darkness, leapt into his lap, and settled right in. "How do you do that?" his friend asked. Who knows what cat and from where and why. That's just how he is with cats.

So he knelt and Jensen rubbed all around him, and meowed, as cats are wont to do. And he purred a purr that was sort of a rumbly, growly purr. Jensen is a fine, healthy specimen, and a very nice cat indeed; in fact, the kind of cat a girl might wish she had one of her own of, at home.

Jensen is an independent spirit, though, and he lives on Tow Hill with his family. So in the end, we continued on with our walk, and took our leave of Jensen. I looked back to see Jensen sitting by his mailbox staring at us as we went. "Come back!" said Jensen.

My soundtrack song for this image of man and cat is Genesis, with Follow You, Follow Me.

P.S. I only had this realization AFTER our visit with Jensen. The spot where we came across Jensen on our walk is the exact spot where I found the cat and deer tracks in the snow in December. And so I have deduced that the cat who walked with our little fawn in the snow . . . was JENSEN!!! Can you believe it? It fills my heart with great happiness and peace to think of our fawn having had a friend to walk with on the cold winter days. In particular, it is purely lovely that he should be befriended by such a marvelous orange cat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.