AMK49

By AMK49

Show Day - little and large .

Today was a very special day in the history of our local Fife Show as the Fife Agricultural Association celebrated its  200th anniversary with the first show having being held in 1821 . The show hasn’t been held for the last 2 years due to Covid so large crowds arrived and the rain stayed away.

After I had done my usual judging of the Children’s Pets which had an excellent entry I was able to wander and meet up with many old farming friends from years ago. 

There was an excellent time tunnel with displays from the last 2 centuries and previous shows - I was interested to read that the cup that I awarded to the best conditioned rabbit was presented in 1954 by a lovely lady that I knew well as a client - now well into her 90s.

The blip shows an example of how things have changed in farming with the little Fordson Dexta that I remember arriving on the scene when I was a lad being dwarfed by a mighty modern  Fendt with all the attachments to sow large acreages of grain in a single operation.

The livestock were a great attraction and of course the heavy horses that did the work before the tractors were there to show how implements have changed.

I have  included just a few extras from the many photos I took today.  (isbiJG  with his bull Gough may be interested in the champion Beef Shorthorn bull - it actually comes from one of the farms next door to the one I was brought up on so I had a good catch up there too ) 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.