I WENT BACK TODAY!

Today was my second stint at the Community Fridge - last Monday being my first one - and  I enjoyed it just as much as last week.  I had to tell Heather, one of the organisers, that I had a sore neck so wouldn’t be able to lift anything, so she put me on “light duties” in the kitchen and also asked me to chat to people in the Community Café - well that didn’t require any lifting.

My shot is of the Community Fridge, complete with label, just in case you thought I was joking, the Bags (Boxes) of Hope, all ready in the corridor to be delivered and a huge stack of cardboard for recycling, in which the various products are delivered or collected - flattening it is in a job in itself!

There was lots of coleslaw, pasta pesto and wraps today and also bags of salad so these were extras that could be taken with the 5 items usually allowed, but not many seemed that interested.

I had some good chats in the café and generally helped where I could, so another good Monday morning and the time just flew.  It is great to think of all the people who come through and not just on Mondays, but also on Tuesdays and Thursdays, who benefit not only from the free food but lots of smiles and encouraging words from the various volunteers.  

You might be interested to know that we have been accepted into Membership of the Church, so now we need to find our "niche" here - I think I have found two of mine - in the Worship Group and at the Community Fridge - I wonder where Mr. HCB's will be?

I think John Wesley had it right hundreds of years ago!

“Do all the good you can,
     By all the means you can,
          In all the ways you can,
In all the places you can,
     At all the times you can,
          To all the people you can,
As long as ever you can.”
John Wesley 1703-1791

P.S.  Many thanks for your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s Blip - my neck is still very sore, but I am taking the tablets and also doing some exercises, so hopefully, it won’t be long before it heals.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.