Wolf's Milk Slime Mould

On my walk today I went to the log where I photographed the giant Dryad’s Saddle yesterday…and I noticed this little beauty - how I missed it before I shall never know…it is a bright pink colour and shows up really well on the log.

Initially I thought it was another fungus…but investigations (Google search) suggest it is actually a slime mould called Wolf’s Milk. The little balls varied in size from a pinhead up to these ones  about 5mm diameter - I have added an inset showing my thumb to give an idea of scale (my thumb is about 2cm across at this point).

We took a load of garden rubbish (old pots, wheelbarrow, plastic greenhouse frame and tons of cardboard) to the tip recycling centre this afternoon - living the dream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.