An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Meccano!

Backblip

Made up for my lie in yesterday and was up at 7am.  

Spent time editing some photos this morning including the ones I took of the house in Lewis that I posted on the Lewis FB page, and the lady whose family it belongs to, got in touch with me (see extras) I've emailed various versions to her, including black and white, so she can have them printed if she wants to.

Christine was here with Alan today so we had a lovely catch up about our holiday.  We loved staying at her holiday house in Stornoway and meeting her mum in law and sister again, and taking her mum out for lunch.  I think that's why I love the Western Isles so much, knowing people who live there and who give us such a warm welcome makes it feel like a home from home.

David went off to play golf at Leven with Keith and I spent some time in the studio unpacking my art stuff that I took on holiday and didn't really use.  I will make up for that soon.  So inspired by our holiday, lots of ideas of what I would like to do.

That may have to wait though as I currently have two commissions to get organised!  One for my friend Sharon for her charity (I mentioned it a few weeks ago and I've not started yet.  Oops!) And a friend who wants me to paint a particular thing for her daughter's friend as a gift as she heads off to uni.  It's a rather unusual one (won't give any details until it's done and in the hands of the recipient) and I will have to speak to my friend to get more details to make sure I fully understand the brief.  One thing I know is, it will be fun to do!  :-))

And in the background to all of the above, is the ongoing tap! tap! tap! of nails being hammered into roof slates.  The work continues with more horrors being uncovered as the job continues.  We definitely made the right decision to have the entire roof done.  

Tommy has been great at keeping us up to date while we were away, emailing everyday and sending photos.  They've had to replace the Velux window above the landing.  It was quite bizarre to see the gaping hole from Tommy's pic.  I wish he'd sent me the pic when he took it as I could have gotten a shot from inside :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.