Cat's cuttings

A rather annoying day, weather-wise! I decided to bring up some more panes of glass and clean them up to continue glazing the glasshouse. I say 'continue', tho' I've only got one pane in so far! I must have gone out four or five times, only for the rain to begin and to get driven indoors. I finally got one more pane in the frame to find that I'd put the glazing clips somewhere that I couldn't remember! So I finally gave up!

My Blip today is of a tray of rooted cuttings of catnip, Nepeta faassenii 'Purrsian Blue'. I saw this cultivar, new to me, in a local garden centre a few weeks ago and bought one. The person who named it must have had a sense of humour! It was popped in the nearest crate with all the other plants awaiting homes, but it wasn't long before pusscat Susie spotted it, or more likely smelt it, and chewed the tops off all the shoots! I chased her off and trimmed up the 'cuttings', fourteen of them, and popped them in a pot of compost in the plastic box which passes for a cold frame. 

When I came back from London on Friday I found them all well rooted, so potted them up and put them on the garden table while I went to fill the watering can. When I returned a few minutes later Susie was on the table about to munch them, so I had to put them in a box with a lid. I'm not sure if it's worth planting them anywhere - I've even had to put the original pot up on the fence out of Susie's reach! It does prove two things - cats love catnip and can be trained to take cuttings!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.