Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A very wide Acer

I was in a deep sleep when the house alarm went off at 4.50am. I was not sure if we had an intruder or not, and as Gavin is away I did not know what to do - I was not going to go downstairs to check, and I reasoned that surely if there was an intruder Xena would have barked? Anyway, it obviously was a false alarm but I could not get back to sleep as much as I tried, so I have been feeling tired today.

The weather has been iffy all day - windy, cool, rain then sunshine. Strange weather for the end of May and it does not bode well for a good summer. I managed to dodge the showers when I walked Xena this morning, but every time I wanted to go out to take a photo for this week's Wide challenge it started raining again. 

I wasted an awful amount of time trying to photograph something on a mirror for our final homework submission for our camera group, it took ages as I kept getting the wrong reflections in the image and so I ended up deleting all of them. I will have to rethink that one.

Gavin arrives home tomorrow - 3 days in the USA in both Chicago and New York means it has been very busy for him. However I love it when he sees his Chicago client as they always give him an enormous tub of Garrett's popcorn, it is simply the best - this time they gave him two tubs, one for me! He found time between meetings today to go to the store that is photography heaven, B&H photo, to collect something that I had ordered that I could not get here in the UK. He said I would go crazy if I was let loose in that store, it is enormous, well stocked and with plenty of efficient and helpful staff. We don't know what that is like anymore in London, most stores carry such a limited range. He complained how expensive New York is compared to London - this morning he had a breakfast meeting with a client and it was £120 for two continental breakfasts!

I was pleasantly surprised when I received an email from MPB today who have now received my Lee filters that I sold to them, and they said they were in such good condition that they were going to pay me more than the original quote. 

Later this afternoon the sun came out so I took Xena for another walk, and when I got home I took a photo of our little Acer tree with the fisheye lens to show how wide it can be, for the Wide Wednesday challenge.

In other news, poor Meriel has finally succumbed to Covid. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.