Lala's Journal

By Lala

Roses

Starting to bloom.

A very difficult day today. B was in great pain all night and neither of us slept much. At 5:30 I gave zomorph and it made no difference. He had major pain in his back, neck, and the legs and knees. Every touch had him screaming, let alone move him. I called the hospice advice line and after advising me to top up the morphine with liquid form and also give paracetamol, they referred me on. I spoke to the gp, the district nurse team and nurses were dispatched on an urgent call to administer the just in case injection meds. . Between the phone calls and the nurses coming, Julie, the new care provider came to do an assessment. What a lovely lady! She helped me to make B more comfortable, showing me how to slide him on the bed, though by her own admission it’s hard to do single handed! The new carer starts tomorrow. When the nurses came B was feeling a bit better. They listened to what I had given him, praised my spreadsheet, haha, and said they didn’t feel injections were right just yet. They advised a ‘ladder effect’ regime of meds with the two forms of morphine (one twice a day, one 6 times a day), paracetamol 4 times a day, as well as the 6 other meds and gels! I now have 10 alarms on my phone to remind me when to give what! 

Result, he is so much better this evening, managing to walk with the frame to the bathroom and then the bedroom. In fact, he wants to continue watching tv and all I can think of is my bed!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.