So Many Books....

..So Little Time....

I have always loved reading and am glad of it as it got me through the pandemic with my sanity intact - well almost... Reading was something I could do maskless in my own house by myself, with no social contact with anyone..Even now as the pandemic panic is settling down somewhat, reading is still my main hobby..

So needing a blip for today - when the only thing of interest was getting a haircut -  the easiest solution I could think of was a photo of my current books.. At the moment they are bit eclectic... they are not always, but today they are..

Toufah is our book club selection for June and I have just finished it. It is  an inspiring memoir of a young African woman who was raped by her country's dictator and was forced to flee to safety in Canada. She later returned to West Africa to testify against him, and launched an unprecedented protest movement. There will be much to discuss at our next book club meeting...a serious book and a heavy topic..

The Old Ways - A Journey On Foot is totally different..probably well known to Brits, but it was new to me...The author takes us along on his walks on the ancient paths of the UK.. and I understand that we will also visit Spain, Palestine and the Himalayas?  I have only accompanied him on the first two walks so far - the Ickneid Way and the Broomway and have enjoyed them both. I didn't really know what to expect from this book..but now I see that it is much more than a travel book! Walking, yes, but with bits of natural history, geology, literature etc thrown in. At the moment, I am reading it in bits and pieces..one path at a time  - interspersed with my lighter reading - my escape into the world of murder mysteries with A Three Dog Problem, the second book in the "Her Majesty The Queen Investigates" series by J.J Bennett. 

Next on my list will be Still Life by Sarah Winman, which comes highly recommended by two different friends...I ordered it yesterday afternoon and it arrived today! Can't wait! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.