England

After spending my first night outside Scotland since February 2020, there was no breakfast option at "The Cat Inn" in Egremont, so I had to make do with a mug of instant coffee. On the drive to Cockermouth, the Lakeland hills to the east were sitting under the expected blanket of threatening cloud, so I kept away. I explored Cockermouth by taking its 7 Turf zones, finding a green dinosaur (see extra) and very promising place for breakfast. Whilst waiting, I replied to A's text that she and F were in Cockermouth (having cycled from St Bees) by saying "Me too!" After eating my tasty but minimal "eggs Norwegian", I wandered over to where they were.

With blue skies over the coast and sea, I headed over to Maryport. Again, I let ita 12 Turf zones lead me around the town, out to the remains of its Roman fort, and back. I was doubting whether it really was Maryport that we visited when the girls were little, as I didn't recognise anything. But that's life with little kids: you see little of places and don't remember what you did! Maryport (pictured) celebrates its maritime history, but also its Roman heritage (see extra).

It was interesting to see all the Platinum Jubilee displays and bunting in Cockermouth and Maryport, when I've seen almost nothing in Scotland. The contrast is remarkable, considering that the Scottish hills are visible across the Solway Firth from Maryport. Another contrast between the two countries is access legislation. I had to go through a gate with a "Private, no entry" sign to get to a Turf zone at an interesting ruin in some woodland, and I was challenged by an old woman over permission to be there. In Scotland, I'd have the right of responsible access but, just across the border, some people still cling to 19th century views on the sanctity of private property.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.