An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Chicken Licken and Hen Len...

Showing my age there :-)) 

But that's what came to mind when I had the urge to paint some blue chickens.  No idea why, but they were fun to do.  Ended up turning one of the sketches into a birthday card for my god daughter who's studying in the Netherlands at the moment, so my half an hour messing about with paint turned out to be quite productive.

David was playing golf at lunch time then going on to the annual curry night with the group of pals he goes fell climbing with in the Lake District so I've had the day to myself.  

I had planned to make scones to have after lunch with our friends tomorrow and David had left all the ingredients for me on the kitchen worktop (the flour etc is on a high shelf in the kitchen and being a short a*se I can't reach it!) however, when I measured out the flour I was 100g short!  Couldn't understand it as I never run out of flour!  Frustrating!  

D will be going to the Co-op first thing tomorrow to pick up the last of the items I need for lunch so he can pick up flour then and I can make them tomorrow.  I like to prepare them a day in advance then leave them in the fridge overnight as that helps them rise, but here's hoping they'll be ok being made and baked soon after.

Some crochet this afternoon then spoke to a friend on the phone who has asked me to paint a scene for her daughter's friend as a gift for her 18th birthday next month.  She's given me lots of info about her daughter's friend (who's about to head off to uni to study Applied Mathematics and astrophysics!  My brain aches at the very thought! )

Anyway, I won't say too much about it at the moment other than it involves dragons and I am very excited about tackling it.  At the moment I have no idea what form it will take or what the scene will be, but as with every other personalised commission that I've done, I will put it out of my head completely for a few days and trust my subconscious to work away at it, so that when I sit with my sketch book a few days from now, an idea will pop into my head almost fully formed and save me from days of angst!  That's the theory anyway and it's not let me down yet.

While David was out enjoying his curry, I had a ready made Tesco's finest macaroni cheese except it wasn't that fine for dinner.  Note to self - don't buy that again!

Whilst waiting for the microwave to do its thing I had a eureka moment and suddenly remembered there's a kitchen cupboard where David tends to put overflow stuff (stuff I have over-ordered :-) I had a look and - woo hoo! - there was a new pack of flour, so after my  rather pathetic dinner I was able to make my scones and they are now resting in the fridge ready to go in oven as we sit down to lunch with Dave, Kirsty and baby Jack tomorrow.

I feel quite domesticated :D 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.