Moreton Peloton

The signs warning of road closures for Ride London have been up for weeks. Ollie dog and I decided to check it out. We positioned ourselves on a country road near Moreton, from where I shot the Tour de France in 2014. At first it was beautifully quiet waiting there alone listening to the songs of skylarks and corn buntings.

Then the support vehicles started to arrive. I was amazed by how many motor bikes, cars, vans and breakdown trucks started patrolling the area. A van stopped near me and two guys got out and started brushing and shovelling gravel from the side of the road, smothering me with dust. They were apologetic and said they were collecting it to fill a hole that could be a danger to the cyclists.

It was an elite women's race. I took the image of the leader (extras) at 13:12:47 and the peloton at 13:15:28. What an amazing lead she had. I think she's Veronica Ewers, a pro cyclist from North America who rides for EF Education, an international language school.

I'm posting early for me as I won't be around later. I'll catch up with comments in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.