A Very Rainy Afternoon

What a funny day - we kept waiting for the promised rain to begin and it finally did around noon. And then it POURED this afternoon. But I was oh so clever and got out to the garden before the rain, although the garden was quite wet from the on and off again showers.

The main blip is a blossom on the Itoh peony that I blipped a few days ago. I love the color and elegance of the blossom. Funny how much it changes when it opens. 

But there was a lot going on in the garden this morning. Yesterday's peony bud had different visitors this morning - a Green Stink Bug, nothing uncommon about that - and if you look closely, you'll see a couple of ants near the bottom of the bud. My mom used to tell me that the ants were "tickling" the bud open. More likely they're after the sweet nectar droplets.

And finally, the bearded iris (I have no idea where I got it from or what it's name is) is quite wet and a sweet little bee is poking its head out.

Great fun in the garden this morning! 

Meanwhile, my son texted to say that my 4 year old grandson was diagnosed with Covid today, so no grandchildren tomorrow. He's not vaccinated of course, being too young. He thinks that my granddaughter probably had it earlier this week, although she had her booster shot on Wednesday. To the garden I go tomorrow (as much as I'll miss them of course!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.