Kettlewell Crags

Go large

The weather has been gorgeous today. I've had a big ride (Ilkley-Burnsall-Kettlewell-Masham (via Coverdale)-Ripon-Harrogate-Fewston-Askwith-Ilkley) but spent so long out that I managed to miss all but the closing overs of just one of the boys' cricket matches. I did a bit too much photography, got delayed by a puncture, got sidetracked chatting to friends and strangers I met on the way, and then just ran out of gas. I got to a point where I realised that if I continued en route to Collingham where the firsts were playing, then I'd not only miss Forrest batting but end up returning home in the dark! Perhaps I should be happy that I set off expecting I could knock out a hundred hilly miles with no problem. What was I thinking?! I've usually got the first big ride of the year out of the way long before mid-April. I'd forgotten that horrible feeling when unconditioned muscles simply run out of glycogen. A mere twenty miles from home felt like fifty, every hill looming up like a mountain. And I'm supposed to be a grimpeur!

To save myself from a difficult choice I'm blipping this particular shot because it was quite hard won and sums up the day pretty well. Descending into Kettlewell I spotted this tree high above me and had a hunch that the light and clouds today would provide for a great photograph. I pretty much had the view you see here in my mind's eye. Getting to a suitable vantage point was not so simple though. I found a path, lifted my bike over a fence and left it mostly out of sight, then climbed up the steep fellside in my cleats. Of course, as soon as I finally got in position the sun went behind a big cloud, but I was determined to get the shot I was after and bided my time, perched on the slope in very inappropriate footwear. I think it was worth the time and effort.

As for the cricket, the Firsts lost to last year's league and cup champions, Forrest only scoring a few unfortunately, but the Seconds won their game quite comfortably, Roam taking a couple of wickets. I think it will be a good night at the club.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.