Classic Cars at the Castle

So yesterday was Challenge Cup Final day.  Once again Wigan were not at their best: Lots of errors and silly penalties given away, whilst Huddersfield looked up for a challenge. I feared the worst, but because their normally accurate goal kicker was off his game, we did not fall too far behind. We trailed until the last three minutes when Liam Marshall scored right in the corner and Harry Smith kicked the goal from the touchline to put Wigan 16 - 14 up. Huddersfield played generally better over the course of the game but goal kicking cost them the game.

For the past few seasons we have not had a good reliable kicker. I'm so glad we have one now! He is a good creative player all round really - I hope he stays at Wigan!

As soon as the final hooter sounded I had to go to work. It was much smoother than last night fortunately. I still felt tired though. I was OK while I was doing something but in the lulls when nothing needed doing I felt swimmy headed like I'd go to sleep if I sat down.

I woke up a bit when I got home and had a couple of ciders. It would have been sensible to have a coffee, unwind and go to bed but since when have I done the sensible thing? I feel even more shattered today! The roadwork people starting work at 8.30 AM did not help! Their shouting voices are for more disturbing than the machines.

We had a walk up to the castle where a classic car show is taking place. It is so good to see these normal events taking place again. I took a few photos, there were so many people it was quite difficult though. 

Once home I went to make a late lunch for Grace and Zeph - whilst cooking burgers for Zeph I accidentally closed the grill door and when I went to check the burgers, they were on fire! Brian came and dealt with it - I remembered what to do from last time this happened about ten years ago and told him what to do. Once the smoke cleared I started again and finally everyone got fed.

I have a little while to relax now before work again. It probably won't be very busy tonight but we have the Big Clean to do! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.