Crib Goch, the Snowdon Horseshoe, Hitch-hiking

and Ice cream.

Day off - and up early to grab some breakfast; not out of choice, but because my body clock now tells me to do so. Had a bit of a headache after a great decision last night to mix hot cider and whiskey, but the skies were blue and the sun was hot, so I decided to climb some mountains. So, made a packed lunch, made a hitch-hiking sign and headed off to get a lift.

I'd never hitched before today, and it was a very pleasant experience. I only waited a maximum of 5 minutes, and each person that gave me a lift were lovely and shared a little insight into their lives. I met a local, two kiwis, 3 Liverpudlians and two old holidaymakers.

I got to Pen-y-pass, the point where I started my assent up the Pyg Track before starting the scramble up Crib Goch. I'd heard stories of Crib Goch, but I realised that I had no idea what to expect - so when I saw the (almost) sheer rockface looming up, I was a little surprised! Pressed on, and found myself on the grade 1*** scramble up to the top, with a sheer drop to my right and a very steep one to my left. At one point had no idea where to go - with a seemingly impossible gully to pass, and ended up going to wrong way - but soon found my way back.

Onwards, and upwards, to Garnedd Ugain, the second highest peak in Wales at 1,065m - and involving more scrambling and sheer cliffs - and then (after lunch in the sun) to Snowdon.

Snowdon has the unfortunate luck to have a gentle enough gradient to allow a train to the top, and thus allow the worst sort of tourist to crowd the trig, stuff their faces with crisps and generally swarm. So, despite the fact that it's England and Wales' highest peak (1,085m) it was the most un-enjoyable of the day.

I made a swift exit down, and then along another arête to Y Lliwed, at 898m, and then wound down to the miners track, then back to Pen-y-pass.

Another 5 minute wait, then then caught a direct lift all the way back to Betws, where I bought an ice cream before heading home to sunbathe before working duty shift this evening. Good day indeed.

--Update 21st April--

Sad to see that the helicopter that I'd seen hovering by the snow in the bottom right of the photo was recovering the body of a 20 year old walker that had fallen to his death while I was on Crib Goch. I had assumed that it was doing exercises. Reminds you of the respect you need to give the mountain, even in weather as good as it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.