Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Hilbre

I always try to get a window seat on the sea side when I’m travelling on the North Wales Coast Line. The Dee Estuary looks different every time you see it, but then also always the same. 

Today I had a nice clear view across to the Hilbre islands at the tip of the Wirral, with none of the usual flecks of grime that are a feature of most pictures taken through a train window. It is is on my bucket list to do the walk out to these islands at low tide; the Dee Estuary is a fabulous spot for wading birds and seals.

Here, viewed from Mostyn, are the largest island, Hilbre, along with Middle Eye. The third island in the archipelago, Little Hilbre, is not in shot, with the other visible bump of land being Hilbre Point on the Wirral.  The buoy on the right might be West Bar Buoy, helping to mark the few navigable channels through the estuary. 

I’m now back in Yorkshire to enjoy the rest of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.