Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Foryd

I don’t see Little Egrets often, so I had fun watching four of them in Foryd Harbour at Rhyl.

I’d come down to see Mum, who is now in residential care. I think this was the first time I’ve been able to see her since Christmas, including the ten weeks or so she spent in various hospital settings. She seems to have settled into her new home and I had a good visit (extras - lots of extras today!)

Rain at lunchtime gave way to a fine afternoon, so I stayed in Rhyl for a wander. Firstly I headed east along the prom, pausing to top up my pin badge collection at the RNLI shop. I passed the Royal Alexandra Hospital (extra) where I have vivid memories of first independent overnight stay, aged 3, with a bout of meningitus. I probably wasn’t appreciative of the Alfred Waterhouse architecture at the time. 

Doubling back along the beach (extras) I headed over the Foryd via the new harbour bridge into Kinmel Bay. Kinmel Dunes nature reserve was just a mile or so further on, and I saw my first Common Blue butterflies of the year, as well as a Painted Lady (extras).

Returning along the prom into Rhyl I pottered about town for a bit seeing what caught my eye (extras) with a freshly revealed ghost sign being a highlight. Then it was back on the bus to Denbigh for one more night before returning to Yorkshire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.