The journey home

Our holiday in Worcestershire and the Cotswolds (wrapped around the launch event for our Diary of the war podcast series at Great Malvern Priory last Tuesday) is over.

Our journey north to Edinburgh was straightforward. Nick's office is just a short walk from Birmingham New Street station, so we travelled into work with him from Pershore. On the train I read the last couple of chapters of our book group book (Portable magic by Emma Smith) and chatted to the American tourists seated next to us.

As soon as we walked through our front door, we made a start on all the post-holiday tasks: putting on the hot water; unpacking; loading the washing machine; checking the garden; opening the post; texting our hosts with news of our safe return etc. We also made a dash to the supermarket, and I delivered a present to our neighbours to thank them for watering our yarden plants while we were away.

Then it was time for me to set off on my bike to Melissa's house for book group. We were a quorate quartet: myself; Melissa; Winsford; and Christine. We all agreed that the book was very interesting. Winsford has blipped the book alongside some of the lovely dishes that Melissa prepared for us.

Two foxes crossed my path on my cycle ride back home - one at the start, and one towards the end. My own silver fox cycled out to meet me at the half way point, so he also saw the second one.

My blip is of a sign at Birmingham New Street station. Three of those 'destinations' did not exist when we were undergraduates at the University of Birmingham in the 1980s.

Exercise today: walking (11,298 steps); cycling (11 miles).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.