Haselwood family, Pershore Abbey

At the base of the tomb of their parents In Pershore Abbey, the mourning children of Fulke Haselwood (d. 1595) and his second wife Dorothy (d. 1625) are depicted. The child at the front facing forwards is thought to be their daughter Katherine (d. 1579), possibly waiting to greet her parents in heaven. I took this photograph when I visited the abbey this afternoon with Nick. He and his wife Sharon live just a short walk away from here.

Earlier in the day, Nick and Mr hazelh ran 10k together. Then after breakfast and Catan (Mr hazelh won) we drove to Broadway for a wander through town, and cake for lunch. Over the course of the afternoon Mr hazelh and I reminisced about our last visit to Broadway. This was for a very posh wedding in (we think) 1996. We stayed at the Lygon Arms, which was also the venue for the reception. I drank far too much during the celebrations, and the following day I suffered terribly with the worst hangover of my life*. I still claim that the Lygon Arms owes me a breakfast.

Back home again, Mr hazelh beat me at Scrabble, then we enjoyed a lovely salmon supper and talked drivel.

*I have only ever suffered two bad hangovers. The second one was in the Lake District six months later, coincidentally in the company of Nick and Sharon.

Exercise today: small amount of walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.