Capital adventures

By marchmont

Modular

I've been trying to get a blip of this development for a while, for social history purposes but it is really difficult so this is the best I could do this morning, stopped at a red light. This is student accommodation and the 'rooms' are modular units that arrive on a flat bed (right) and are then lifted on by the 2 huge cranes.  It's quite amazing to watch.  Not sure I'd want to live there though, crammed in between a busy road and a high embankment.  Close to KB though and I expect that is the attraction.

Being fully conscious quite early I fed Alfie before the parking charges came on and then later went to Sainsburys for food and other things.  It was so cold, 6/7 deg I had to switch the heating on. 

It get better as the day wore on and I was able to get back in the garden, planting the rest of my seedlings and tying the sweet peas to the canes.  Not sure why I am bothering as no guarantee that they will be cared for when I'm away.

Chatted with 2 lots of neighbours back from Italy, different parts though.
I made bread today and ate some of it!  It gave me the energy to keep on in the garden well into the evening.  I gave up on 'no mow May' and cut the grass.  It took a while and I kept thinking it was going to rain.  I'd watered the garden so that is usually when it rains but it didn't.  I even put up another bit of wire to guide the clematis alpina.  

It was late but still fine when I came back in to make my own take on honey chilli chicken and watch the Monday night programmes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.