Capital adventures

By marchmont

Mini mini break

Despite a strange bed I slept well, I slept so well in fact that I completely missed the excitement at 5.30 when the smoke alarm battery outside my door had to be replaced.

It was a slow start, which was fine.  Breakfast in the garden and then I sat for a while and read my book.  Then off with Grace, the black lab, to walk at Loch Monzievaird.  I'd stayed there with the boys about 15 years ago but in mid February not late spring.

We walked to the heronry and saw about 8 birds, young and adult.  There were also ducks, swans and cygnets and lots of wild, British, bluebells.  

The self catering lodges looked full and there were quite a few folk out walking, paddleboarding and on the peddalo.  Bank holiday week-end. 

Then we drove to Comrie and sat in the ti-pi outside the Royal Hotel.  I ate, more than L but it was lovely and the sun was out by this time. 

Back to Crieff and L drove me to Stirling to catch the Megabus.  It was a double decker so I got a great view from the front seat. I was home in time for more to eat and some tv.  Caught up with Friday's HIGNFY, which like last year majored n Dominic Cummings.  Life really is like Groundhog Day at times. 

Suddenly it's become very warm and I'm really glad I finally put the summer duvet on on before I left yesterday. 

Another day with a welcome rest from the laptop.

I was only away about 24 hours but it felt a lot longer, so lovely to be back to an almost normal way of life.

F2F - 10
Phone calls - 0
Virtual - 0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.