This is the day

By wrencottage

Fortifying Granny

We went out for our morning walk across the Green, following which our #2 son came over with two-year old H to chill out at Granny and Grandpa’s in Mummy’s absence. This afternoon H had a nap upstairs in the cot in the spare bedroom and, as we no longer have a working baby monitor, Granny decided to make herself comfortable in the ‘library’ so that she could listen out for any signs of distress. So far, H has coped very well while Mummy has been away in Poland, and chats away to us about her, and her older sister, without any tears, but nevertheless I wanted to be sure she settled down to sleep happily.

I was contentedly surfing away on my iPad when the excellent Smithers, the butler, (aka my lovely husband) arrived with a tray of tea for me. He baked a batch of scones a few days ago and after we’d each had one he popped the rest in the freezer, as is his wont. He then takes out two at a time every so often and defrosts them in the microwave. Minutes later we are eating buttered scones with jam. 

Smithers is nearing the end of his trial period (50+ years and counting) and I have a feeling I’ll keep him on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.