This is the day

By wrencottage

Oops a daisy!

The traveller arrived back from Center Parcs late last night after we were asleep.  This morning, after an online business meeting for which he had to get up early, he had some time to spare, so he came to chat with Mum and Dad. We were just having coffee after breakfast and were about to go and shower, but were delighted to sit back and have a catch up with him and it felt just like old times. 

The downside of this was that the chat went on for so long we were still in our PJs at 11.30 am, which is unheard of for the Aged Parents! It also meant that by the time we were showered and dressed, it was nearly lunchtime. I know, decadent. But we have to make the most of opportunities to chat with the traveller as and when we get them, which isn’t often.

As for the rest of the day, in between doing a couple of loads of washing, I finally got down to the business of sewing up my skirt. I was doing well, and was quite proud of myself for doing a really neat job. I had put in the pockets, sewed the side seams, and sewn the yoke around the hips and then offered the skirt up to the dress form to see how much of a seam allowance would be needed at the back where I was going to sew in the invisible zip. The only problem was, I didn’t actually have any seam allowance – the two sides wouldn’t meet at the back seam!

I was really disappointed, because I’d checked the pattern against the dress form and the size seemed fine. Clearly not, and I will have to unpick the yoke from the skirt body, then unpick the side seams and the yoke side seams, and see if I can gain an extra inch or so around the waist. It’s all good practice, but I could have done without the bother!

I had been hoping to blip my completed skirt this evening, but I hadn’t allowed for lengthy chats with our youngest, nor for dire fitting problems, so instead I amused myself by going out into the back garden and taking pictures of the daisies which have just come out in the wildflower area in the back corner. The evening sun was shining through them and they looked so pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.