Before bedtime

It had rained in the night and the garden was still, raindrops everywhere. It was warmer and some foxgloves had opened at last. I wouldn't say I had a busy day but the kitchen got cleaned, groceries arrived and Aberhill joinery gave me a price for my shed which I accepted.  In the afternoon I spent an hour digging out creeping buttercup. There were quite a few bees around keeping me company and just as I was going in for tea and toast a butterfly arrived but sadly, didn't linger.  Afterwards I drove to Birnie for a walk and a blip. It had remained still with almost no wind all day so the little loch was looking lovely.  As I came back to the car I met the swans with their eight cygnets having a bedtime snack.  After a while the adults upended themselves to eat and left me in charge of their family.  The young ones were so close I could have picked up a couple easily.  There are swans on the other loch too with five cygnets.  I'll have a look for them the next time I visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.