Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Natural Geometry

Thanks to steveng for hosting wide Wednesday. Today’s theme being geometric/shapes/patterns. I saw this tree in the parking lot of a store in Tucson and was immediately taken by it. It was the shapes the branches formed that caught my eye. To be honest, I couldn’t take my eyes from it. I saw countless irregular polygons. I will put the original as an extra because when I fiddled with it I noticed how those shapes stood out.

This is among the many reasons I love math. In most cases things must be precise. But geometry doesn’t have to fit nicely into some ’box,’ which as some of you know, I like to think outside of. Irregular polygons need not be part of a pattern. They can’t be easily explained. They are part of the beauty of our natural world if we dare to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.