Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A so-so beginning

My first full day in the mountains. The camera wouldn’t work properly. Hopefully, it was just operator error. It was stuck on live view and everything I tried to shoot was completely blown out. It didn’t help that the sky was a solid sheet of dark white.

I discovered the problem early enough that I was able to go home to get 2 other bodies. I should have brought an alternative to begin with!

The extra was taken from the car on the way back to the canyon. It looks better than it was.

I like hanging out on the balcony of the lodge. I almost always meet nice people there. Today I met a woman who was there with 3 children. They were adorable. Inquisitive, they loved seeing my pictures and told me their Madera Canyon stories. We talked about the Tooth Fairy and they showed me where their teeth were missing.

The two girls in the picture are best friends. Mom said they met in daycare when they were 1-year old and are inseparable. Despite the camera debacle, spending time with these kids and their mom was a great way to start the week. Kids, even if strangers, always brighten my day and lift my spirits.

In other news…was grilling my dinner and set off the smoke detector. I’ll have to remember to close the door and window next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.