At the loch

Helen and Dave left this morning; missing them already.  They were heading up to Perth for a few nights, and had some nice plans; and the weather is going to be good for them; I am so pleased for them.  

It was lovely to have them, and Dave proved to be a great guest.  I always say Helen is the best guest I have ever had in my home.

After they left I washed all the bedding and towels, and after lunch we walked at the Heritage Loch.  It was lovely to be there as it had been a while, and it was the first time I had seen the cygnets.  When we first saw them they were sleeping, but later they were in the loch with mum and dad.  And the goslings are everywhere!

After a while Bob had had enough of walking, so I did another circuit of the loch on my own.  I stopped to talk to a couple, the lady was in a wheelchair, and I thought they were mother and son.  Turned out it was husband and wife but she had late stage dementia and was in a home.  She was 73 years old, and had had this since she was 65, and he had cared for her on his own for a long time before she went into care.  He doesn't know if she even knows him now, but he visits her every day.  Enjoy your life each day, as you never know what will be your fate in the end.  I talked to him for quite a while as I felt he needed conversation and wanted to tell his story.

We had a light meal tonight of mushroom omelette, followed by the chocolate eclairs that the girls had given us home last evening as we couldn't eat them then.  I feel I have eaten far too much over the last few days.

After dinner I sorted out a lot of my pictures, as I had not been doing much on the computer over the last few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.