Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Poppies by the Sea

I manage to go and see these every year, but the last time I went there were SO MANY PEOPLE and I found it upsetting to see trampled poppies where people had ignored common sense and all the signs and just trampled the flowers so they could get a better photo.  In particular, there seemed to be quite a few women who had dressed themselves and their children in white and were posing for photos right in the centre of the poppy fields.

So this year, as the poppies were 'fresh out' (publicity will soon bring in the crowds!) I went in the evening - yesterday - so not time to post a photo when I got home.  It was so quiet and peaceful and all you could hear was the distant sea and the closer singing of skylarks.  I took a LOT of photos and it was difficult to choose just one.  But as I'm not a paid up member I can't add any 'extras'.

There were lots and lots of  buds so I will be going there again in a week or so.  When I last went - 11 days ago - there was only ONE poppy visible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.