A one-off

A day at home today, trying to catch up with some gardening. Somehow I don't seem to have done much, though I did prick off a whole load of white foxgloves - I want to replace all the pink one on my bank with the white variety! 

I planted the Rhodochiton atrosanguineus that I bought last week in one of the boxes on the deck. I've grown this Mexican climber many times over the years; here's a previous Blip of it at Arduaine - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2063358394462374258 

I must remember either to collect seed or to pot it up before the winter as although it's a perennial it's not that hardy.

My Blip today is of what I think is quite  a rare plant - Petteria ramentacea, the so-called Dalmatian Laburnum, from Northern Albania. I bought it a couple of years ago from a nursery in Suffolk and was quite pleased to find a couple of flowers on it this spring as I think it's quite fussy when it comes to flowering. I know it has flowered at Logan, so am annoyed that I forgot to look for it when I was there the other day!

I see that my Piptanthus nepalensis, the 'Himalayan Laburnum', is flowering too, so that might be a Blip for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.