A touch of glass

Not a bad day - I decided to spend it outside, cleaning some more panes of glass for the glasshouse and fitting them. Although the sun came out a few times there were many attempts by the Clerk of the Weather to introduce some rain; after many false starts he finally succeeded around four o'clock and drove me indoors.

I've got one side of the roof glazed, though in spite of my care in fitting the glasshouse to a timber base it's obviously not completely square and the roof panes don't line up as exactly as they should. Too bad - I'm not changing it now! I put in four more after taking this picture!

Last night, after I'd Blipped, we went out to Dunollie Castle, which is now just a ruined tower on a hill above Dunollie House. A piper from Inveraray had written a tune for the Queen's Platinum Jubilee; Entitled 'Diu Regnare' (Latin for ‘Long to reign’) it was to be played at sunset all over the Commonwealth. Jamie MacGregor, who works at Dunollie, led a few dozen folk up the steep path to the castle and played a number of melodies including 'Diu Regnare'. Quite dramatic with the dark clouds and orange sky! I should have put it on last night, but am squeezing it in today as an extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.