Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bistort

I had this day off to myself so had an extended, Sunday type walk along Baildon Bank to Shipley Glen and then down to Trench Meadows. 

I’d missed the best of the sunshine, so there wasn’t as much butterfly activity as I’d been hoping, but did finally spy a few: Holly Blue, Green-veined White, Small White, Comma and Speckled Wood and my first Silver-ground Carpet of the year. More unusual was a Larch Ladybird (extra) of which I’ve only seen a couple before. 

This patch of Common Bistort sits in a damp patch at the foot of Trench Meadows, and makes for a nice display at this time of year. I noticed an accumulation of dead insects around the flower heads and stalks but don’t know what that might have happened. 

Grey Heron were in situ at both Hirst Mill (extra) and Saltaire weirs, with a Cormorant joining the fun at the latter. Roberts Park was Sunday busy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.