Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

It's a serious business!

Today the Northumberland County Show returned. The last was in 2019.

I was there when the gates opened at 0900, but there were already hundreds of people on the site.

The traffic control was superb and I was soon parked and in the showground.

I enjoyed pottering about and seeing what I could see. I like going in the morning before the highest number of people have arrived. You also don't have to walk as far from the car park if you are early.

Nearly everyone seemed to have a dog with them. Then you start to spot the star dogs who are there for the dog show. One basset hound was a Cruft's champion but the owner said there was stiff competition in her class today.

I loved the scrambling route set up for the dogs to practice retrieving. They had to run and jump over two separate walls of hay bales to retrieve a lure which had been thrown. Some were very quick; others had no idea what to do; a canny one ran around the side of the bales instead of jumping. Huge fun.

There were all the usual classes with cattle, sheep, tractors, show jumping, sheep shearing, Cumberland wresting, tug of war plus lots of stalls for food and local crafts.

My blip is the judge of the dressed sticks. He concentrated hard on his job.

My extra is a plucky little dog who was not phased by high jumps. I like it because is shows the crowd in the background, including the young owner.

I came home early, just when it was getting very crowded and the bins were overflowing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.