In a pub garden

Glorious start to the day but it clouded over with a garden wind as the day went on (I know what I mean)

Ranjit, V’s stepmother wanted to take us out for lunch so we went to a highly recommended pub The Duke of Cumberland in Henley…not that one. It was hidden away below the road on a steep hill which even confused Google maps but the setting and the food were really excellent - often one cancels out the other.  Lovely old rambling building with dining rooms and terraces. Someone had gone a bit mad with tropical planting in I suspect the 80s but there were enough roses and hardy geraniums to keep me happy.  Beautiful lunch.  I think it was easy to get tables because of the Jubilee - most people were doing public events somewhere.  The pub had a jubilee party that evening as well. 

Stopped at Cowdray to look at the ruins and pick up some ham!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.