Jubbly tea party

This morning dragged, so slowly.  Outside it was cold with thick cloud, in fact when I got up the top of the mountain was obscured by cloud - haar? Then the estimator was ill so that cancelled that appointment.  Allowed me to do some stuff for K. I watched the arrivals at St Paul's, though I missed the best bit, the booing of the PM.  The rest of the morning was very silent as the service was also on the radio. 

I had an early lunch, well that basa I had defrosted needed eating. Then to get Mum for the Jubilee Tea Party.  I forgot the PO would be shut for the holiday so I had to go to Cameron Toll for her cash.

Strangely between arriving at the Manor and leaving 10 minutes later the sun had come our transforming the scene into warm and sunny.  Mum enjoyed the afternoon tea. It was very busy, much busier than they had expected but we ate the sandwiches and ate the cakes, under the glass ceiling.

Went home via WPR to feed Alfie and buy strawberries and cream for Mum.  Home I sat in the garden till it got a bit chilly.  We still have a NE wind. Chopped up a bit more lilac trimmings and sewed. It was noisy #18 ? was doing something that sounded like a hairdrier/pain stripper and the (noisy) grandchildren over the back were there.  I gave up when the obligatory tears were replaced by bad joke telling.

I had a walk to Margiotta for some (stale) baguette and ate that watching the programme about the Crown Jewels.  Pity Clive Myrie didn't cover the rest of the story about the Honours of Scotland.  Then the rest of last night's film, which was actually pretty good. Watched the news and then to bed. 

I find this Jubilee very sad.  It is knowing that within the next few years it will be a funeral and those involved must know this too, in the same way as I know this about my own 96 year old relative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.