Jubbly June

A beautiful day.  Years ago, this weekend was the June holiday weekend in Gordon District and I remember some glorious sunny holiday weekends, often involving a fundraiser for the Community Centre.  

Today I took advantage of the sun.  After the usual Saturday chores I headed to Bonaly for a walk in the hills.  It must be 30 years at least since I've been there.  Not as I remembered, well the trees have really grown in the last 30 years.  There were people but not too many. I saw a deer, a heron, fisherman at Clubbiedean, mountain bikers, walkers and some alpacas out walking but I felt really naked as I did not have a dog (or dogs) with me. 

Home to sit (snooze) in the garden before it was time to wash and brush up for the evening's event.  I was at 'Cross Currents' the College PASS end of year dance show at the Churchill Theatre, again first time since 2019.  I fed Alfie on the way there and ended up being the only 'distinguished guest'.  This meant a lot of wine and sandwiches went to waste.  It was, as ever, excellent.  Such energy and joie de vivre.

It was still a lovely evening when I got home.  I ended up watching snippets of the Palace Party - Paddington, amazing light show and shots of the young Royals.  It still feels sad.  'Long and glorious' are empty words when you are 96.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.