Living my dream

By Mima

Winter has definitely arrived

The day started at -2C, clear skies and I was full of hope for another beautiful day. Those hopes were dashed comprehensively when dense cloud rolled in. The frost remained on the ground until lunchtime and our maximum temperature was… +5C!

That’s proper winter weather.

Thankfully there was not a breath of wind, so when I ventured into the garden it didn’t feel too cold. Of course that might have had something to do with the five layers I was wearing.

Amongst other things I harvested the last of the capsicum peppers in the tunnel house. 34 of them. They are already cut up and frozen. The onset of frosts mean that the plants wouldn’t grow any more, and I didn’t want to run the risk of the fruit rotting.

But much of the day was spent in the kitchen, processing those peppers, making crackers, baking feta and olive flatbreads, and creating squash and lentil soup.

Needless to say Bean was submerged under blankets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.