Living my dream

By Mima

An exhausting day

We’ve been out all day…again! This time it was a visit with a friend who lives in a tiny cottage in the woods a wee way south of here, and then further southerer to see my FFL (friend for life) at his crib in Moeraki.

As you may be able to tell Bean found the whole experience quite overwhelming. Apologies for the low-res image, but I had to blip her! Look at that wee bit of tongue sticking out. So sweet.

The woodswoman gave me lunch, honey - she keeps heaps of hives on her property - and a pot of home-made skin moisturiser, in exchange for raspberry jam, feijoas and a pumpkin.

FFL went fishing all morning, so when I arrived after lunch there was a large pack of fresh blue cod fillets waiting for me. He is very well trained. Yes, I bartered with eggs, feijoas, chillies, a pumpkin and kasundi.

The extra is The Kaik at Moeraki: the small settlement where FFL has his crib, and which is gradually being eroded by the sea. A beautiful spot which I have blipped before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.