Living my dream

By Mima

Receding

From the top of the hill this morning it was possible see the good weather of the last week disappear northwards. Behind me was nothing but cloud and shafts of snow showers on the mountains.

For several days the forecast for today has been dire: a blasting cold southerly bringing icy rain at our elevation, possibly in prodigious amounts.

I woke to cold, but otherwise acceptable conditions. And so it has remained all day. The rain was due to start at 6am, which soon changed to 11am on the forecasts, then to 2pm, and now there is mention of a total of maybe 0.4mm commencing at 5pm. 

Accordingly I have been outdoors much more than I’d expected, albeit freezing my butt off in the process. Line trimming left me with rigid hands and numb cheeks, but also with a sense of satisfaction about an unexpected job well done.

Bean and I have had two walks in the spirit of keeping warm, and to tempt her away from her blankets which she sticks to like glue in these conditions. See the extra. 

The line trimming probably wasn’t such a brilliant idea, because I have tweaked the hamstring tendon in my buttock again. I damaged it last winter and spent months getting it pain free and then doing physio four times a week. Those exercises have slipped somewhat in the last few months. I suspect I’m paying the price. Silly old fool. I really do know better. Fortunately I have some of the wizzbang pain relief from the last time I needed them.

I’ll lay off line trimming for a while. And anything else that hurts my rear…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.