Living my dream

By Mima

Forward planning

The day started with news of the unexpected death of a friend in Scotland. Too young. She leaves a large gap in many people’s lives.

It was a stark reminder that we simply don’t know when our time is done, and to make the most of it all.

To that end it has been a positive and productive day. 

I made a Caerphilly cheese. The first of that ilk for me. It is in the press overnight.

A friend came over with his powerful line-trimmer to tackle an area of Chez Mima which is beyond my battery-powered machine. In exchange he took away a big bag of dog biscuits which are no longer suitable for Bean. He has two crazy Aussie cattle dogs who will love them. A good barter.

I spent some time hunting online for point-of-lay hens (pullets) to pick up in late August. The plan is that they will replace my current chooks who are coming to the end of their laying lives. To my amazement demand for hens is still crazy here and the earliest I can collect new ones is 7th October. I’m glad I decided to get on with it today, otherwise I would have had to wait even longer.

There are Little Owls screeching around the property after dark every evening at the moment. I’ve heard them before, but they are particularly loud and persistent just now. So persistent in fact that Bean has got bored looking for them and now ignores the screaming as they fly around.

This sign has just gone up at the rugby grounds. I agree with the sentiment, but it’s a shame it’s necessary to spell it out.

I have mixed feelings about Jacinda Ardern becoming a Dame in the Honours List. I love that she is being recognised. What an admirable person she is. I hate the Honours List and the social hierarchy which it reflects. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.