Wet allotment day

After a longer than normal lie in, we had late breakfast, late coffee, and did veg prep for dinner. By then it was midday, so I got my rough stuff on and went up the allotment for 3 hours of cutting, weeding and planting....in the drizzle. The onion patch has been in desperate need of weeding for months, (top photo) but I also had it in my mind to cut grass in the fruit cage, hoe the sweetcorn and plant more beans. I was over ambitious, and managed some cutting of the long grass, and I did the hoeing (bottom pic) but my priority was to complete the weeding. My back is now aching and I'm very wet, but at least I can now see my onions! (Middle pic)

Lastly I planted my remaining beans. I'm not sure if they are French or runner, because the name has washed off the stick, but I suspect a kind of French bean.I had a lot of old seeds. I gave them each a stick in case they want to use it to climb a bit.

Cycled back to sit down for a bit before cooking a roast. Jon has been getting out our camping stuff and working out what we still have (what wasn't in the caravan). Unfortunately we are just going to have to muddle through and make a go of it without the things we are used to having for a holiday. On the plus, I have an airbed and a pump. We have a cooker, and my picnic box with plates and cutlery, and some chairs. I bought an electric kettle so I think we will get by!

I plan a relaxing evening, a bath and to start a new book! 4 work days then out holiday begins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.