Zviedru vārti

Sunday here is much like Saturday. Quiet. 

The sun has been shining all day and the speedometer got up to 21º. Cue more folk heading for the beaches and lakes.

I thought about going to the beach too, but could not bring myself to jump on a hot, sweaty, busy train. Not even for 20 minutes. Maybe tomorrow, when everyone else is back at work/school/college. 

I did go back to the National Museum of Art hoping to see the exhibition of 1960s/70s photographs I missed out on during last week. It was open this time, fortunately. It is a small collection but a great record of those times. 

Then I made the short walk to Latvian Museum of Photography. Closed. It is supposed to be open on Sundays, but perhaps they went to the beach/lakes/summer house instead. Or got Covid. 

At least I got a Blip. It is Zviedru vārti (the Swedish Gate) in the city's old walls, dating from 1698. Barely visible right at the far end of the street, behind the tree, is the entrance to the Ministry of Finance where I spent many hours working in the 1990s. 

The Extra is the sculpture of author Blaumanis (see Friday's Blip) in Bastejkalna parks. I like the style.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.