Finish

I promise, this will be the last picture from a childrens performance from Kalmar theatre for a while. I thought the photo conveys a lot of the excited and emotional feelings in the gap between receiving their parents cheering at the last performance of something they have been working on for a very long time -and, summer holidays, starting in moments. That's when this picture is taken. 

This morning I woke up really early and noticed a sound I haven't heard before, a kind of low frequent rumble, far in the background but very clear. I went outside to listen and thought it might be a plane or some tractor but it was the sound of ten thousand Harley Davidson motorcycles starting their journey home after their huge European meet, here on Öland. They used all morning to leave, I could hear them from the motorway heading up to the bridge some three kilometres away. Yesterday at the party we made a simple calculation; if there were 16000 motorcycles on the island, as the newspaper claimed, and they drove two and two, each taking up four metres of space in length, that would make a 36 kilometres long row of motorcycles. From what I could hear, they didn't go all at once but the rumble was impressive. The number of machines were later estimated to 8-9000.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.