That time

Definitely that time of year. Everything that can grow, does, as if life depended on it, which it does too. I decide how much grass I want to cut on the relatively large lot surrounding my house. I've decided to only have short grass on a small area by the entrance and around the side of the house. The rest is left to grow as it suits mother nature, I just make some paths where I need to go. The insects needs the flowers and the grass much more than I need a tidy grass plain. I like the many different shapes of grass and all the little flowers. shaping a sort of meadow. Later, in the early autumn I can mow it with a scythe and let the seeds do their job for next year. The cows can have the grass cuttings. My old place could take up to three hours to cut if I did all of it, here it takes me less than an hour. That suits me fine.
The evening was spent with friends in their garden enjoying the first proper summer evening with grilled food, conversations and some music. I'm fully  occupied taking it all in while its going on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.